ahlon 64 2800+ vs 3000+ vs something else... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2004, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default ahlon 64 2800+ vs 3000+ vs something else...

If I am making a computer that will run prett fast, play music, internet, be abel to record music (playing an instrument), talk on aim... basic stuff like that and play the latest games really good (such as doom3, U2k4, Half life 2 when it comes out etc.) should I go with an athlon 64 2800+ or a 3000+ and will I notice much of a difference? Also would recommend something even lower and maybe OC eventually or what? Except I want the 64 bit so I don't kow if it goes any lower the 2800+. Also the core for the 2800+ would be newcastle and the core for the 3000+ is clawhammer

the rest of the specs:
2. GIGABYTE "GA-K8VT800"
3. 1 GB of memory pc3200 ddr400
4. seagate 80gb 8mb 7200rpm
5. Audigy 2 ZS
6. Radeon 9800 Pro
7. Lite On 12X DVD Burner
8. Aspire x dreamer II
9. Logitech Keyboard
10. Logitech MX510 Mouse
11. Z-640 Speakers

thanks
__________________

Ice9 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I would do the 3000+ clawhammer since that seems about the budget you are after...then of course get a serious heatsink & fan get the temps waaayyy down so that later you can overclock that baby.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Don't settle for anything less than the 3000+
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 05:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

yeah ive got to agree. if you got a powerful cooler on there, like say a water cooler, you should be able to overclock it pretty good. of course i recommend seriously reading up on the subject b4 overclocking anything.

any questions about it just post. The rest of your specs look good. i have that graphics card and those speakers so i can attest to their awesomeness.
sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.