AHHH 6800 problems! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 03:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default AHHH 6800 problems!

Aight heres the prob.

I bought a EVGA 6800 geforce fx

First time i booted up no prob...installed drivers all good restarted still good...tested it out on far cry and battlefield vietnam...it ran perfectly on the highest settings of both games.

I left my pc running just sitting on the desktop and came back an hour later....pc was off and when i went to restart i had a brief power up and then nothing....swapped out the 6800 for my old pos geforce 4....(which im using now) and it booted up just fine

So far ive updated AGP chipset drivers for my gigabyte mobo, tried reconnecting power cords so that the 6800 would have its own cord coming out of the power supply and i think thats all i came up with.

Any Ideas would be great

Thanks
__________________

IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

O ya my ps is 420 watts....the requirements for that card are 300 watt incase anyone was gonna say something about that
__________________

IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

In ABX forums, some guy's 6800 GT fried because the fan was bad quality. Check to see if your card was fried or something.

You could always complain to the company and get another one.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yeah you dont want them to get too hot or else the system will just shut off. And if the fan did die, they will replace it so dont worry there. I have the exact same card with a 420 watt psu and it runs fine.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

it depends on card manufacture as well, the manufacturers try everythign to cut down the cost of the final product, where they find a good fan for say 2$ and a below normal quality fan for $1.80, they obviouisly willl went for low quality saving them with 20 cents per fan. they could have their fans designed from reputable fan manufactures like Thermal take, akasa, coolermaster (they are into research), but even if you see the card from highest quality manufacturer, you find any of these names on them, as they know, that same fan that can be found in market for 2.00, they'll manufacture it for 2.50. I have seen myself fans getting failed even on highest quality card manufacturers.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.