AGP8 card in AGP2 Slot. MSI6191 MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2005, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default AGP8 card in AGP2 Slot. MSI6191 MOBO

I am just "sprucing up" my old workhorse.....
Currently 128MB RAM
32MB G400 Graphics
Win 98
Athlon 650
Pretty old stuff really......... but it still manages to play a lot of new games OK.......
What I'm thinking is biggest impact to speed it up whilst I build a new PC is to stick 128MB of RAM in (about 15GPB in the UK,) then find a nice new graphics card I can stick in until the new PC is ready, at which point I'll transfer the card across.

The question is, how will a 128MB AGP8 card, for example, work in an AGP2 slot, (like a ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB TV-Out DVI for example?) (Only 25GBP here.)

Many thanks
__________________

zak1976 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

Spot on.

I think the 9200 will compliment your system well, anything more will be overkill - and unlikely to support agp2x anyway

more ram is always good and 256 sounds fine for your system.

In terms of how cards perform on older systems -
running an agp 8x card in a 4x barely reduces performance, perhaps 5fps. I cant tell you how much a 2x slot would reduce it but either way it will be nicer than your G400.

Together - probably the best £40 you'll spend on your computer.
__________________

fitzjj is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

But will the card work....... the MOBO only has the AGP2.... reduced performance I can cope with..... not working I wouldn't!

(Oh, and one last things, I assume the card comes with a cooler fan,..... where on earth do I wire it into?)
zak1976 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

it will run slower, about quarter of the peformance.
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fitzjj
Spot on.

I think the 9200 will compliment your system well, anything more will be overkill - and unlikely to support agp2x anyway

more ram is always good and 256 sounds fine for your system.

In terms of how cards perform on older systems -
running an agp 8x card in a 4x barely reduces performance, perhaps 5fps. I cant tell you how much a 2x slot would reduce it but either way it will be nicer than your G400.

Together - probably the best £40 you'll spend on your computer.
I had a 15 point difference running agp4x vs agp8x on a 6600GT on an AMD 3400 OC'ed to a 3800.

But, an AGPx2 is a different voltage or connector I believe. However, AGP 2x and AGP 2 are different.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 06:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

AGP2.0 slots support 4x, 2x and 1x - so will work fine with a 9200 card, so the max you would get it to run at is 4x.

The main reason for the switches from AGP1 to 2 to 3 was because of the improvements in graphics performance. The lower the number the higher the voltage used - some ge-force cards used to be a bit power hungry and kill of whatever was using your first PCI slot, hence the need to reduce the voltage used by the cards.
fitzjj is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default Help!

From MSI's website for MSI6191

"- 1x/2x AGp "
• One AGP (Accelerated Graphics Port) slot.
- AGP specification compliant
- AGP 66/133MHz 3.3v device support "

Can I run this card on it?

http://uk.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=A...0SE/T&langs=11

Without frying it or damaging my mobo.

Need to be 100% sure please!
__________________

zak1976 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.