AGP vs. PCI-E - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 03:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Thats funny w/ SLI. If you notice a 6600GT does better than 2x 6600GT's.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 03:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Although I read not so long ago that AGP still has plenty of life left in it and we've barely expanded it's capabilities, by the way the market is going/being lead, PCI-E is the way to go. There will no doubt be AGP counterparts of the GeForce 7/Radeon X900, but they will probably be a lot more expensive.

EDIT:-

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
Thats funny w/ SLI. If you notice a 6600GT does better than 2x 6600GT's.
You mean SLI'd 6600GT's can outperform a single 6800GT?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 03:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

SLI 6600GT's are not worth the price/performance ratio. 6800's are.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
You mean SLI'd 6600GT's can outperform a single 6800GT?
No, he means that according to the graph on Tom's hardware, one single 6600GT outperformed two 6600GTs in SLI, in the testing on Chronicles of Rid**** (by a frame or so)

The 6600GT outperformed the 6800 non-GT/Ultra, if that's what you were meaning.

Again, near the top of the chart, you can see that the single 6800GT outperformed two of the same card in SLI.

[edit] It edited "R i d d i c k" haha [/edit]
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Doom UK neither ATI or Nvidia have said they are making AGP counterparts of it's newer cards

They are both chipset manafactuers, they benefit if people need a new video card
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I know they haven't DJ-CHRIS, I just like to give you AGP users some hope . Since there are plenty of you AGPers out there, I can't see how it'll become obsolete just like that... Sorry, but the average person isn't going to want to upgrade their entire system just for PCI-E, not right now. It'd be bad buisness to outrule any future AGP cards.

EDIT: Oh, and I see now that a single 6600GT outperformed SLI'd 6600GT's in CoR, me bad. Must have been a dodgy Forceware install and/or a dud card ...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Not a dud card, lack of SLI support causes a peformance decrease

When i get a new card, i want a new board. I want to drop this Asus A8V off of a large building
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

DJ-CHRIS: Just being sarcy man. Although you'd think Forceware would be efficient enough to effectively disable the second GPU in a case like this as opposed to loosing performance...

If I might ask, what's wrong with your A8V?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It decides when or when not to boot, randomly.

Low peformance

It sucks

Not enough OC'ing options

Not enough voltage

Bad placement of connectors
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

My old A8V Deluxe setup used to hang on the spalsh screen sometimes... it did get quite annoying actually.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.