agp voltage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2004, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default agp voltage

I was reading through the ati website, and they state that the voltage for your agp card should be 1.6v. The default my mb had was at 1.5, and I only have three options, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7. What does every one else have? Do you increase the voltage when ocing, much like you do with a cpu?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

What voltage does the card's manufacturer recommend?
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I think it is 1.6, but double check with Sapphire. And yes you CAN increase the voltage when OCing your card, but just like the processor, it will heat up more with added voltage. Your card generally can only OC to a certain point before you get artifacts (due to heat) so added more voltage (and more heat) would not help. I would say that the only way you can benefit is if you had really good water cooling.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

Yea watercooling and ocing go real good together. I would say that the card is 1.6v and i always raise the voltage when oc'ing
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

The default voltage was 1.5, ati suggested it be at 1.6, so thats where i have it now.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

then you should be fine. what kind of cooling do you have?
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Just the stock cooling, with a slot fan under the agp for exaust, and a 80mm intake above the pci cards.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

that should be plenty fine w/ a little volt jump. dont fret you should also have a performance boost. only a little one though.
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

he's not going to get a performance boost from raising the AGP Voltage to it's stock setting.....he'll get better stability out of the card and that's it, and if you haven't been experiencing instability then you won't notice anything at all.....

Now I wonder if this is why my FX 5700 card wouldn't work in my ASUS board...perhaps the voltage needed to be set different in the BIOS and at the time I just didn't know...oh well I'm months past that so I'm not about to pull that out of the dust try and find out lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 10:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Increasing the voltage and turning off write abilites made the card more stable. Just some things I have been able to dig up.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.