agp slot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2004, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default agp slot

is this an agp slot?


will this vid card work?

thanks.
__________________

jettpinc is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

yes thats AGP, about the card it will probably work, but if thats a 4x slot it'll run slower
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

is there a way to find out if it's a 4x or 8x slot?
jettpinc is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Uhh....the manual for the motherboard will tell you. Can't think of any easier way.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

mm ok i guess dat wont work then, since this is a preassembled comp and i have no clue as to where the manual is

thanks anyways.
jettpinc is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

Looks like a Sis chipset. When did you buy it? When kind of processor/ram is on it? Might help narrow it down.
__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I believe this computer is about 4-5 years old,
processor is GenuineIntel Family 15 Model 2 2.0 GHz Stepping 4

currently has 992 MB but i believe it started with 512MB
jettpinc is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 08:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

jettpinc,

That is an 'universal AGP slot' .There is no notch between the slot. It supports 2x/4x agp cards. Anyone, correct me if Iam wrong...

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 03:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

hmm. thanks a lot

is the difference in effiency a lot btwn a 4x and 8x slot?
jettpinc is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 10:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
is the difference in effiency a lot btwn a 4x and 8x slot?

Yea, lots of differences. Mainly the bandwidth ... Check out this link
http://www.devhardware.com/c/a/Video...A-Closer-Look/

__________________

intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.