AGP question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2005, 02:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Default AGP question

Ok, so back when I was naive and thought that anything that fits into the slot works, I installed an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro in an AGP 4x slot on my mobo, not to mention my power supply was 250W when the card needs at least 300W. It would work until I tried playing any game such as Half-Life, then it would crash and the screen would turn into a bunch of different colors. I stopped using it after trying for about another 4 reboots and attempts at Half-Life and Battlefield 1942. Now I have a mobo that supports AGP 8x, and a 480W PSU. So I'm wondering:

Has my video card been damaged from using it in the AGP 4x slot with the low power PSU, or will it be top-shape when I use it on the new mobo?

Freeman420 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

low power psu, i dunno, but usually it only gets damaged with a huge power surge, not a small one (logically, this is how it works)

also, AGP8x cards are backwards compatible with the 4x slot, so it doesn't matter and has no effect on the card (ur 9800 pro is really 4x/8x compatible, it's just advertised 8x so it looks better)


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

nah shouldnt have been any Major damage
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 07:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Doubt it although anything is possible with computers
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

Maybe the graphic card's driver is corrupted. Try uninstall it and reinstall again.

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.