agp question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2004, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default agp question

well as you can see in my sig i got a cheap radeon 128mb card.
In my bios,i can set the "aperture size" from 64 to 256mb..what does that mean?Its by default on 64...what would happen if id put it to 128 or 256?Is this like,if i got a 128mb card i set it to 128?
Well i dont know if thats because of it,but ive set it to 128 the last week,and 3 days later my card started to flash.I was playing SOF2 when suddenly it shutted down,and windows became sooo bright,i mean REALLY bright,full flashy.I got the impression that i burnt my card because when i play games the graphics are not as good as theyre supposed to be anymore...

Could it be because of the aperture size thing??
__________________

mal is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

wow dude, lol. the aperture for a 128 cards needs to stay at 64. When u put it at 128, itl simulate a 256 gfz card, while will slow down all ur games, except ones that require so much memory.

Do nt put it at 128 or 256.. It stays at 64
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

well,just look below my name at the title ....on this board as in the real life,im a virgin techie heh ..
What can i say other than "damnit ,i just burnt my card"
I had to try it...
thanks,
mal is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

oh ****.... after reading this i remembered i put my card upto 128 mb's from 64m in the BIOS should i turn it back down? its a saphire radeon 9600 xt 256 mb's card...?
raiden_nrl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.