AGP question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2004, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default AGP question

Why is my a7d8x-e deluxe mobo saying that my AGP Radeon 9800 pro is in a pci slot?

Im also crashing alot during gameplay could this be the cause?
__________________

__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

hmm...not sure.

the crashing could be alot of things and the reading problem would be with the drivers.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try updating the MBD chipset drivers.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my brother's comp also says his AGP card uses PCI
maybe its normal????
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I have the same board as you. Where do you see this in your bios?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 10:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

I havent check BIOS i found this in the device manager properties.
whenever i play a game my system crashs to a blue screen and reboots.
__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

maybe its due to Windows' limited vocabulary.

Can u post the STOP error number
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
maybe its due to Windows' limited vocabulary.
Windows can identify the difference between an AGP card and a PCI card, Major. Try again.

Anyway, sounds like r1y either has the wrong driver, or his BIOS is setup wrong. May also be the BIOS themselves.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Windows can identify the difference between an AGP card and a PCI card, Major. Try again.

Anyway, sounds like r1y either has the wrong driver, or his BIOS is setup wrong. May also be the BIOS themselves.
hmm, lol...I though, well...windows displays a SATA device as SCSI so maybe its also an issue with AGP&PCI..nevermind

I think its BIOS because my brother has the latest drivers and it says PCI
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
windows displays a SATA device as SCSI
Legacy issue. New SATA drivers, BIOS drivers, and Windows updates, now recognize SATA drives for SATA drives.

My current machine recognizes both SATA's as SATAs, and both IDE's as IDE ATA drives.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.