AGP and PCIE on same MB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2005, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default AGP and PCIE on same MB?

http://www.techreport.com/reviews/20...4/index.x?pg=2

Pretty neat - think we will see a lot of these?
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 12:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

wow, that's one dumb product

if you want to go agp, get an agp board; same goes for pci-e
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Actually it's really not that stupid. It might not be for everyone, but it certainly has some potential uses. I wouldn't expect to see many other boards like it.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well....it's not a bad concept, but I believe trying to add both hinders actual performance somewhere down the line. It's definitely not bad for those who want a PCI-E board to try and progress but don't have money to get the graphics card right away.

I'd have to see some performance reviews though
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

be great for people who have little money and can only upgrade slowly....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

I agree with Nuibius, you have the AGP slot, then the PCI-E for if and when you want to expand...just makes the board look kinf od ugly..
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

pci-e and agp's prices are almost the same

for the 6600gt series, the pci-e is actually cheaper, that's why i didn't see the point
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well in some cases you have to buy a whole other PSU to power those graphics cards. It'd be good for those that want to get the mobo only and wait to splurge on the graphics card and PSU at the same time
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

They may just want to upgrade the motherboard, but plan to go pci-e later, and they currently have a allready kick *** agp card...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
They may just want to upgrade the motherboard, but plan to go pci-e later, and they currently have a allready kick *** agp card...

thats exactly my situation
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.