agp to pci help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2004, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default agp to pci help

I am trying to install a pci video card in my machine. It currently uses an agp voodoo 3300. Mothorboard is a Jetway bx2000. The new card is a gforce. I have tryed installing the pci card every way I can think of. If I remove the agp card and install the pci the machine beeps one long and two short and nothing happens. If I install both cards at the same time same thing. I have removed the drivers for the agp card and changed the bios to start with pci but no change. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. By the way, this pci card was given to me(new in box) and has an s- video putput I would like to use with my children's games. Thanks in advance.

bodyman is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 04:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

my expience has been that PCI Voodoo 3d Cards(?) don't like running on the newer motherboard. I remeber upgrading my AMD K233+MotherBoard to AMD Athlon 900+MotherBoard, and I found myself forking out another AU$100 at the time for a 32Mb RivaTNTM64 APG video card.

Voodoo went belly up shortly after nVidia brought GeForce out.
And since the GeForce has been running strong on the market with only Radion coming out in recent history.

I think your GeForce Video Card will me plenty for your children's games. Voodoo is dead now days. Your the first person in about 4 years that has commented about a voodoo card.

I am surprised that your GF does not come out with an S-Video Out . I know you can find some VGA to TV adaptors. But I find they are over prices for what they are.


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 05:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29

Keep your voodoo card in.

Go into the BIOS on boot up and change the prim gfx from PCI to AGP.

I had exact same problem a while back
Kurupt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.