agp/pci-e combo board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 07:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default agp/pci-e combo board

i read sumwhere that there is a motherboard that has both a agp slot and a pci-express slot is this true? its not for me just for a mate who doesnt want to get rid of his 9800xt but wants the option of pci-e in about 6months or so. Ive read this chipset is by via but i cant find anywhere if the board is out or not
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Check out THIS site.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I read about them before (on this forum) its called xgp

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...=0#DetailSpecs

tbh. I would just get agp, and get his next card a agp or get a new motherboard, as, well its biostar who makes it.


That was all I could find on google.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok thanks for replies
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

You may also want to read these pages:

VIA Technologies, Inc.

ECS 915g

ECS 915p

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

notice it's always the crappy boards that have the cool features, such as PCI-E and AGP onboard, or can support either Skt 478 or Skt 775, or has a Skt 775 and an AGP slot? You never see that in a good board. I guess it's just to make up for the suckiness of them.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

lol i know, i sell a asrock socket 754 and 939 combo board at at work. i mean come on ASROCK?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It'd be nice if DFI would come up with something like this but it'd most likely cost a boatload and I'm not sure how the bugs would turn out.

I know that VIA were working on a chipset to support both, but I don't know much about when its due or anything of that nature. I only really look out for nforce and xpress chipsets
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

There is a reason that boards dont do that, or else they would. Seems like it would a really good selling point. Like ASRock, since it is a crappy board, they try and make up for it by combining the two chips.

I'm sure it is extremely buggy. It prolly fools the average user into thinking that they can run these two completely different chips at the same time and have a dual processor system.

Like I said, there has to be a good reason why they dont do this. It probably slow things down a great deal, and dosent always work.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I remember reading something about these, and they had problems. Something about the PCI-e not being the full x16 banwidth or something. Definately do your research before buying one...
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.