AGP or PCI? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default AGP or PCI?

How do I know if I have AGP or PCI? and is PCI different from PCI-E? Which is best?

I know that my modem, ethernet card, etc. are plugged into PCI slots and my GeForce4 Ti 4600 is plugged into a different-sized port. That must be an AGP slot?
__________________

ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

AGP = Advanced Graphics Port, its the old standard for graphics cards

PCI-E= PCI Express which is newer faster one (go for this assuming your motherboard supports it)

PCI = I can't remember what it stands for but don't use it for your graphics card.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

PCI stands for Peripheral Component Interconnect
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Ahhha knew it was something like that. Cheers.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 05:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default Re: AGP or PCI?

Quote:
Originally posted by ilovesocks
How do I know if I have AGP or PCI? and is PCI different from PCI-E? Which is best?

I know that my modem, ethernet card, etc. are plugged into PCI slots and my GeForce4 Ti 4600 is plugged into a different-sized port. That must be an AGP slot?
AGP slots are generally brown. If it is significantly smaller, its probably a PCI-E slot. Just go to Yahoo! or Google's image search, and look for both of them. I am sure you'll get TONS of hits.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 06:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default Re: AGP or PCI?

Whoooops, I was dling quite a bit of things, the internet was lagging slightly, and clicked Submit twice... Sorry !
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

AGP=brown
PCI=white



PCI-E 16x=big slot
and
PCI-E 1x=small slots

__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.