AGP or PCI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2004, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Default AGP or PCI

I am trying to install a new video card on my computer and I am not sure if i have a AGP or PCI port. What is the easiest way to figure out what sort of port i have? I think it is also possible that my video card may be intergrated into my motherboard. Any help would be great
__________________

schlits23235 is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

open your case, and google for "AGP" pictures
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ok, on your mobo (motherboard), there are 2-6 (depending on your mobo) of these 2-2.5 inch white slots. Those are your PCI slots. stuff like tv, sound, modem cards go there. Then, at the end of the rows of PCI slots, there is a dark brown slot that is fixed a little further into the mobo, it's right next to the last PCI slot (not on the edge of the mobo; the interior). That is the AGP slot. In case you don't know what it means (which I'm sure you do): Accelerated Graphics Port. Just by the name, one can tell that the video card goes there.

This explanation is what I'm assuming your asking.

If you are asking if the video card itself is an AGP or PCI, then it should say on the box, or in the instructions. Seeing as it's a new card, then it's probably gonna be AGP, although there is the occasional card that is a PCI slot card (kinda stupid, 'cause there is a completely seperate slot for it, so y put it in a PCI slot?)
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my mobo doesn't have AGP, I am using a PCI graphics card
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, my AGP slot is black compared to the blue PCI slots..... There is only one AGP slot on most mobos.......
And the AGP slot is deeper into the case than the PCI slots aswell

Hope it helps
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default AGP

The brown slot:

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a PCI card will have contacts like this
||||||||||||||||||||||

an AGP card will have contacts somewhat like this
| | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | |
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

the agp slot is ferther away from the side than the pci, and there is only 1 agp, and multiple pci. If ur gfx card is agp, it will only fit in 1 slaot, the agp.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 02:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

i personally think agp slut is better than pci slut unless its pci-express slut
LoTeX is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 03:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
i personally think agp slut is better than pci slut
waste of a post.....there is no 'personally' about it...AGP is faster....period...not a personal preference.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.