agp and pci - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2004, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default agp and pci

Hi,right now I have an mx 420. According to the properties its in PCI slot 1. Im in the market for a new card and the mx 5200 looks good. However Ivenoticed there are AGP and seemingly more expensive PCI counterparts. How do I know what is right for me, and will I be able to use the AGP one. Thanks.
__________________

daver78 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

with AGP you have got different versions, if you do decide to go for an agp, check which versio nof agp does your board support. the latest mobos support 8X.

i dont know what are the performance differences between agp and pci, i heard there is a 3rd format coming out now.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default

How would I check if I support 8x?
daver78 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

look up your mobo spec, dude
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Open your PC, and check if you have a slot for it, it's that simple.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 06:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks, so if a card says its 8x, theres no way itll run on my 4x motherboard. Or does 8x mean it just supports that.
daver78 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

no an 8X card will only work on an 8x board, 4x card will work with 4x board and so forth.

i dont think there is any backward compatibility what so ever
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

some cards have backwards compatibility, i've only seen from 2x to 2x though. 8x requires a different voltage so it really depends on your motherboard
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default

oh, i was just thrown off by the minimum requirements for teh card which say agp 2x.

Also it seems I can buy a ti card with the same bandwidth as fx for a cheaper price. Is there anything I should be careful with as the ti is older.


Can my agp slot already be taken up by the monitor, thats what it looks like.

Sorry for teh questions.
daver78 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 08:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

FYI I have a Ge3Ti200 and that's faster than my 9200SE and my FX5200.
__________________

Wartorment is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.