AGP, Kill it or Keep it? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What do you think of this idea?
I would love something like that, but I don't know how to create it. 2 66.67%
I would love to work on creating something like that. 0 0%
Something like that already exists. 1 33.33%
That wouldn't be useful to many people. 1 33.33%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2006, 12:13 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

6800gs PCIE >> 6800gs AGP because of the chipset

This is really a dumb thread though, its like debating if FPDRAM will be replaced by SDRAM. Of course it will, if that wasnt the case then people would still be using 80386's.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Threepwood
6800gs PCIE >> 6800gs AGP because of the chipset

This is really a dumb thread though, its like debating if FPDRAM will be replaced by SDRAM. Of course it will, if that wasnt the case then people would still be using 80386's.
Nice second paragraph, but the AGP 6800GS can be unlocked to 16 pipes (effectively making it a 6800GT), and can be overclocked like !-!ell from there onwards. In some ways, it starts ahead of the PCI-E 6800GS and can overclock farther by its own nature.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default

AGP is still fine. PCI-E still uses the same bandwidth that 8xAGP does and video cards didnt even take the whole bandwidth of 8XAGP. The only difference really is the SLI compatibility which still dosent make all that much of a difference. My 7800GS and AthlonX2 3800+ will do good for quite some time i think.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 01:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ya... ditch AGP ASAP!

I just bought a cheap card for my AGP in the meantime comp/soon to be server and some idot at amazon labeled the card as both AGP and PCIe... and I bought it w/ gift cards so if it's wrong I can't return it!!! ARGGGG....
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 01:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

I think when they start using socket m2 they will drop agp. Or at least they should.....
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 01:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default

I think that too. Idk, AGP is still good though, just looked down upon because of PCI-E.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 01:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

do you think they will make apg skt m2 motherboards?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Definately. Probably not the best ones like the MSI K9N, but there will be plenty.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default

I honestly dont see why there would be AGP AM2 boards because s939 will be around for a while. Ppl w/ the nF3 boards and MSI nF4 boards will still be able to use the AGP slots on the s939 boards.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 07:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I don't see why there wouldn't be AGP boards...Matter of fact, most people still use AGP.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.