AGP card in PCI slot.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2006, 03:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default AGP card in PCI slot..

Will the clock speed be the same if we keep an AGP card in PCI slot... suppose i am having an agp graphics card and I planned on a motherboard update and i took a board which has PCI-E 16x slot.. Now i still want to use my agp card and keep it in one of the PCI slots..

what will be the difference ???
__________________

hurricanes is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

no. it will not be possibe. agp and pci are two different things entirely. agp stands for advnaced graphics port, while pci means ...well i dont know what it means, but they anre not the the same and willnot work
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

AGP/PCI/PCI-E cannot be mixed with each other. They will not plug in correctly if you try. So, don't try.

Invest in a PCI-E card, its all about x16 man!
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

as above
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 10:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

What they are trying to say is that you cannot put a square peg in a round hole.... If you know cars, it would be like trying to put a 4 lug wheel on a 5 lug setup, or if you know memory, putting DDR2 in a DDR slot, or the other way around... PHYSICALLY, they are COMPLETLY different interfaces, and are NOT backwards compatible. It would be like trying to play a vinyl record in a CD player, or a CD on a record player....

As previously stated, invest in a PCI express x16 video card.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

guys u are right.. but there is a way to keep agp in pci slot using a bridge.. anyway who wants to keep an agp card into a much slower pci slot.. How about keeping an agp card into PCI-E slot.. dont be surprised.. i know what I am saying..

Albatron Launches AGP to PCIe Bridge Card Codenamed "ATOP", the card allows you to use your AGP-8x card with PCI-E mainboards. The AGP-8x card simply piggybacks on the ATOP card's AGP-8x slot located on the top edge. The ATOP card is then plugged into the mainboard's PCI-Express slot. The only other installation requirements are replacing the bracket on the AGP-8x card with an ATOP bracket and installing the appropriate driver.
hmm I think it might cost about 30$ or so.. so guys who still want to use their AGP graphic card can use this one.. pretty cool huh..
hurricanes is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I know AGP card cannot be forced into PCI slot.. I never said i am gonna force into one of the pci slots..I only wanted to ask if there is any bridge kinda thing ...Perhaps i need to be more precise the next time onwards.. anyway PCI stands for Peripheral component interconnect..
hurricanes is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

I don't think any such AGP-to-PCI bridge exists at the moment, nor will it ever. Currently so far, the most viable solution around is to get a motherboard with BOTH an AGP and a PCI-E slot, and yes, those DO exist:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081

So far it seems to be the only board on the market with true AGP and PCI-E support. Every other board that claims it so far has had full PCI-E with a half-@ssed AGP support (e.g. "AGP Express"), or vice-versa.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

check this link .. here he metioned it's recently launched..

http://www.nforcershq.com/article2935.html
by the way have u heard abt Nvidia HSI...
hurricanes is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 09:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

I've already heard about the AGP-to-PCI-E bridge for a while now, what I meant was that there is none exists for plain old PCI.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.