Agp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Unhappy Agp?

Well this isn't for a certain card...but as long as you got a AGP slot(if it's AGP) the card should should work (of course if you met the req. though) right?
__________________

Noknowledge is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, yeah . . . i guess it should
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

most agp cards these days are 8x. 8x cards will work in a 4x slot (although only around half as good), yet 8x cards wont work in anythign below a 4x slot. so as long as you have an agp 4x or greater slot, any of the newer cards (when i say newer, i mean from about a year and a half ago) should work
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

but if u use a 4x spot, ur agp setttings will be at 4x no? Im asking, i am not shur. Sounds obvious, lol
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

yeah. thats what i meant when i said "8x cards will work in a 4x slot (although only around half as good)". So you wouldnt be getting the full benefit of having an 8x card, and might as well upgrade to a mobo that supports agp 8x.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

alright, tahts what i thought, just wanted to be shur, lol
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Umm, be aware of this:

There are three types of AGP card available: AGP 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0 (carrying a main supply voltage of 3.3V, 1.5V and 0.8V, respectively).

A universal AGP 8x/4x slot can handle AGP 2x/4x as well as 8x cards, but most newer motherboards are equipped with an AGP 2.0/3.0 keyed slot, which means that older AGP 2x/1x cards will not fit in, and if you *try* to get it to fit in, all you will end up with is a nice fried paperweight.

The same goes for newer graphics cards that are not backwards compatible with AGP 1.0 slots.

Check compatibility:

AGP 1.0 slot:



AGP 2.0/3.0-only slot:



A universal AGP slot has no notches, and any card can be used (unless stated otherwise by the motherboard manufacturer).
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.