After BIOS update, NOT booting. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2004, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Thumbs down After BIOS update, NOT booting.

Ok, hoping one of you master level techs can give me a hand. Updated a BIOS in my friends PC using an ASUS winXP utility. During the update I got an error. When I rebooted the system, it gave a disk boot failure. I loaded default options in CMOS and saved, PC booted normally. New BIOS seemed to be detected and working. Shut off PC, and booted it twice. No problems. Got up today and booted PC, and it's beeping like mad.

I'm getting 3 beeps, followed by 5 beeps.

It just hangs. Out of 8 times trying to reboot, once it went into BIOS and said it was operating in "Safe Mode" it told me that something with my front side bus multiplier (Something like this) was incorrect on last boot and caused a crash, recomended I correct it. I reloaded defaults and manually selected 1.8ghz processor. Upon reboot, the same beeps happened. All drives and fans seem to power up without problem. Obviously this BIOS update was hosed. I should have done it in DOS instead of using the Windows XP utility program. I'm kicking myself in the booty for not redoing the Flash in DOS, but I figured if it worked, I wasn't touching anything else! lol

Any ideas? Would pulling out the battery help? This is a friends PC, and unlike my motherboard I don't see any jumpers anywhere near his CMOS battery.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well, your right about not using the XP util. They suck bad. Anyway... hard resetting the bios might work, but I'm thinking your firend might have OC'ed this or something. is it possible the RAM is not the correct type for the Mobo in native mode?
Just a thought, but that beep code seems to say it's memory...

Do you know the type of BIOS it is? ie, who made the BIOS code? Award, phoenix...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Inaris, thank you for the reply. The BIOS is made by AWARD. I know my friend HAD OC'd the 1.8ghz CPU to run at 2.1ghz, but his applications were locking so he set it back to 1.8ghz. I popped Sandra on the system to get some performance tips and it was, in fact, operating at 1.8ghz. It's possible a multiplier was off, but I manually set it to 1.8ghz and it still would not boot.

As for the RAM, it's the same RAM that has been in the system for a couple of years.

In regards to hard resettingthe BIOS, I don't have the MOBO manual, should I just take the CMOS battery out for a few minutes? I don't see any jumped on the board to adjust :/
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

yea, that should do it. I'm looking into that beep code too...
Make sure to remove the power from the systemboard too. otherwise it won't work...
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

http://bioscentral.com/beepcodes/awardbeep.htm
http://www.pantherproducts.co.uk/Art...l#Award%20BIOS

do any of these seem to fit the beeps you are getting?
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Inaris, on your second link, the 5 beep CPU error is my guess. All fans are running and it seems cool. I'm back in the BIOS, it's once again warning me that the CPU settings are off and it's operating in safe mode. Now I'm not a guru here, and by manually picking the CPU speed at 1.8ghz it still beeps when I reboot. The lowest FSB frequency setting I can manually pick is 100/33. Does that mean it's trying to run at 3300ghz? If so, is there anyway to bail myself out? I have the correct BIOS and flash utility on a disk for DOS. I don't understand how this thing was running fine last night. I even checked temperatue and it was about 45 celcius.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

is there an option to load failsafes? Might want to use that if you can. See what happens. Also, just try letting the BIOS select what setting to use. ie, don't do manual config.
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

btw, on the links, you need to view the AWARD not the AMI. Unless you are using AMI...
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Let me check on a fail safe load. It also currently has PLUG & PLAY set to disabled, this wouldn't be a problem would it? Running Windows XP Pro OS. CPU seems to be getting hotter...
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

no, plug and play is for the OS side. Not the bios.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.