Advantage of USB Keyboard - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 05:40 AM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ps/2 will be here for a while. Mabye in the future, all periferals will connect through one plug (usb 3.0?) including keyboards, mice, flash disks, or anything that currently goes through ps/2, usb or firewire. It will be hot swappable and be compatible with usb 1,2,firewire,ps/2 as long as you have an adapter.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 08:43 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
The annoying green thing that pops up when using USB devices. Driver problems when using different devices on same port. Crappy USB DSL modems. Waiting for the damn modem to connect. I had bad bad experience with USB. Nothing ever seems to work properly when using a lot of devices. Dunno why, maybe I've been doin something wrong. The most annoying thing is that a lot of USB hardware comes with extremely crappy drivers with crappy annoying, useless programs that run in your system tray.
My guess is that you've had these "bad USB experiences" because of how outdated your computer is. Your computer must be the first or very near the first pc to come with USB. Issues can be expected in such a situation...(Not to mention the possibility of various other hardware conflicts with such old parts.)

But then again, maybe that's not it...and USB just hates you .
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:11 AM   #33 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I didn't have those problems on my own comp. Never used a lot of usb devices on my comp.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:49 AM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Well, if you have a slow processor, your USB mouse is going to have some problems over PS/2. With PS/2, the data rate is much slower...and for most people the "feel" is indistiguishable. However, if you're like more or one of the other countless people who require very sensitive, fine input devices, the USB connection is the only way. I can turn up the optical rate of my mouse and get much smoother, more responsive results, and I can only get those high speeds through USB. Plug that sucker into PS/2 at high speed, and it's doomed.

As for Windows popping up icons and balloons each time you connect something, well, that's most customizable. You can turn the balloons off, as can you most of the sys-tray icons. Personally, though, I like knowing that Windows has detected what I just plugged in without having to go open MyComputer or something to see what happened.

I never use out-of-box drivers for any device I buy. Nearly all of the time, those drivers are out of date or were shipped before some major bug was discovered and thus don't work. If Windows can't detect and run the device with its own driver database (rare) then a quick trip to the manuf. website usually sorts things out.

On your machine, though, TheMajor...I can understand why you have problems with USB.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:54 AM   #35 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

As I said before. I don't use my USB ports on this IBM. TheMajorMMX did not have USB. It has now, but I haven't tested it yet.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:27 AM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

OOOoooh...there's a new version of the TheMajor out...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:32 AM   #37 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, I plugged one of those USB things on my mobo. It has 8 pins.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:36 AM   #38 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Cool.

I bought a combo card for my new comp. Has 6 USB ports and 2 firewire ports, plus internal sockets. (DIdn't really need it, though, as the mobo I have has 6 ports on it to begin with!
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.