ADSL Qustion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2004, 04:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Default ADSL Qustion

Hey,
i am getting ADSL soon i wanna know if i need to remove the old 56k modem before i put the USB ADSL modem in.
__________________

grantdixon is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 04:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

No, you don’t need to remove it; I leave my ‘56k in, as I occasionally need to dial up from somewhere else, and don’t have the ADSL line.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 04:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Default

ok thanks Eagle
grantdixon is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Just a suggestion, grantdixon, but I would really try to get your ISP to get you a Cat5 connectable router (unless the one they are sending you has both). In my experience, the USB DSL routers are unreliable.

Just an FYI.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

I am using the USB router as well. I am novice to router anyway, so far things are going gr8. What is the difference between USB router and standerd router. Mine's name is USB router, god knows what it means but i am connecting router with CAT 5. It doesn't even have USB port.
linux1880 is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Ok i will see what i can do about the Cat5 one
grantdixon is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 04:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Going through Nic card's is faster then USB.Save your modem.I throw mine away and we had a thunderstorm took out DSL for almost a week.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 04:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

if ur only networking 2 computers on dsl. have 2 NIC's in the host and 1 in the client....install service pack 1 for windows xp and enable "network connection sharing"....it will save you a sh1t load of money and if you configure everything right...the bandwidth you get will be better than that of a router. if ur going wireless than u have to go with a router.
rapideye95 is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 04:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Default

I always suggest to get the Cat5 dsl modem then just get yourself a cheap router, to share the dsl and give you a bit of protection.

Sometimes I purchase wireless routers instead of wired since they are cheaper like today Buy.com has the netgear MR814 for 19.97 with free shipping. Normally the only cheaper one you can get is a gigafast from tigerdirect or sometimes buy.com.
rasputinj is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 12:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Default

$19.97 that is cheap where i am we pay 120 for a usb modem
__________________

grantdixon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.