ADSL modem problem ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2003, 08:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Exclamation ADSL modem problem ...

Hi there ...

my friend have a problem here ...

according to him ...

Quote:
On his ADSL modem, the 'Link' LED keeps on blinking and that is the main reason (IMO) it won't let him connect to the internet using the PPPOE account.
any idea? can you help?

Thanks in advance!


Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
__________________

__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

That is exactly right.. the link light signifies that you have a connection between your ADSL router/modem to your computer or router or whatever.. If the link light is blinking the the ADSL modem is not picking up a connection to anything.

What are you trying to hook the ADSL modem into?
__________________

__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shroud
What are you trying to hook the ADSL modem into?
Hopefully he tried to plug it into the phone line but you never know
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Default

i think his problem is ... it's working fine before ... but now he had the problem ...

by the way ... he also told me that his old ADSL modem is working fine though ...
__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Yeah.. then he should use his old one.. cause it sounds like this one is not going to work for him.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-21-2003, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

shut everything down and power cycle starting from the wall to the computer.
__________________

warl0rd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.