Additional Hard-drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2003, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Question Additional Hard-drive

Hi all. At the moment I have a 40gig hard drive and i'm beginning to get low on space. Am I able to install another hard drive? Or do I have to just buy a larger one copy everything over?

Thanks.
__________________

integra is offline  
Old 11-19-2003, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you buy another hard disk that extra storage can be used in addition to the hard disk you already have. you may or may not have to format the new drive. this can be done throught the operating system.

if the new hard disk is much faster it would be nice to tranfer the operating system to it to speed up your computer. you do not have to do this though. you will need to set correct jumper settings.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-19-2003, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

Yes you can. Install it on the middle plug on the same ide cable as the other hard drive and set the jumper to slave. You will have to format it as well before trying to store data .
mobo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.