adding RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2003, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Question adding RAM

I have a Sony Vaio PCG-FX240. It only has 128mgRam. I would like to upgrade to 512 if possible. any particular brand that is best to get?

thank you!
Jeremy
__________________

carolinaadi is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

depends on what u want to be doing. If you want to over clock corsair or munchkin are best brands to go with. If you dont want to spend the extra cash crushial or kingston value ram would be best for you
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

overclocking a Sony Vaio PCG-FX240? i don't think so for obvious reasons like it has a p3 800Mhz processor , but mostly because this is a laptop. def not an overclocking monster, i would go with the second part of XT's advice.

or if bestbuy or circuit city have memory specials during the holidays i would consider that also.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default

So it does not have to be a certain brand or kind like I have been told?
carolinaadi is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

best way is to buy it from a local store in your area so you can test and if it does not work exchange or return it. than keep testing other brands. i would buy the best deal, don't worry too much about compatability as long as you buy local.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Open up your laptop and see what is in there now. You will then at least have the specifications. Then you can go look for deals that meet your specifications. I was lucky a few days ago while looking for more RAM. On the clearance rack in my local Military Store, there was a 256mb ram module that was exactly what my computer needed. Cost me $12.00
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.