Adding Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2004, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default Adding Memory

Memory is how much RAM you have right, i dont wanna get anything confused, but memory=ram correct

and if so I see people that have multiple ram cards/whatever they are


Like my question is? How many can you put in a computer, and where exactly do they go?
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to blankbandit
Default

ram is random access memory...so, yes.
how much ram? ....depends on your motherboard. can be 2, 3...etc. they go in simm or dimm slots, amongst others..
__________________

blankbandit is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Yeah i suggest you look in your motherboard manual. Or post motherboard here and we acn get the information for you. And if you dont know you motherboard download this here this has to be only the 50'th time i have said this lol
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 08:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

they are long slots on your motherboard about 6cm long
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 02:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: Adding Memory

Quote:
Originally posted by ATI-M
Memory is how much RAM you have right, i dont wanna get anything confused, but memory=ram correct

and if so I see people that have multiple ram cards/whatever they are


Like my question is? How many can you put in a computer, and where exactly do they go?
There are various types of memory related to a PC. The type you are referring to is sometimes what techies will refer to as system memory which is amount of memory installed in modules on your motherboard. The BIOS chip that's installed on your motherboard is however is a special type of ROM (Read-Only Memory) which most MB manufacturers currently offer as EEPROM (Electronically Erasable & Programmable ROM).

Some people have video cards installed in their PC, which is what gamers prefer. The video card that's installed on my PC has 32 MB of DDR RAM that's soley dedicated for processing video/graphic images and related code for hardware.

The maximum amount of RAM that you can install on your PC is primarily dictated by your MB. RAM modules come in different sizes and speeds. Again, depending on your MB, you will be restricted to using certain types depending on how new your MB is. As an example, my motherboard will only accept SDRAM modules which are 168-pin DIMM form. 100 MHz; or 133 MHz. Some newer MB on the market today accept both the older SDRAM and the current DDR SDRAM which is 184-pin DIMM form.

The DIMM sockets on the MB are often found near the front of the MB near the IDE channels.

EDIT:

For an excellent tutorial done by Corsair, Inc. go to THIS site done in a very easy to understand comprehensive manner.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.