Actual CPU frequency - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 12:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DEATH-INCARNATE
oh and everyone is allowed to practise free speech here caseyc.
At least ReinisFMF knows now that he should consider AMD alot more seriously before making a choice. So senseless did contribute something that could help ReinisFMF in the future.
In case you hadn't noticed, there are rules against posting comments that don't have any relevancy or common-sense.

I've used Intel CPUs since 1992, and never had such a problem. I just recently (1 month ago) started using an AMD solely for the 64-bit architecture, and haven't had a problem with it either. The only reason I upgraded was because my P4 2.0 was getting old, otherwise I'd still be using it and be problem free.

Buying AMD will not solve all problems, nor is it specific to solving this thread. Therefore, no, he didn't help anyone, and neither are you. You're only making the problem worse.
__________________

__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

Buying an AMD will not make your Intel CPU run at 3.0GHz where it should be.

I'd suggest running CPU-Z (link here) and posting the results... I can try to help from there.
__________________

__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Core Speed ~ 2600 MHz
Multiplier X15
FSB ~ 172 MHz
Bus Speed ~ 690 Mhz
ReinisFMF is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

Well what it may be just that your memory speeds are slowing down your FSB. Do you know the speed of the memory installed?
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by caseyc
Buying an AMD will not make your Intel CPU run at 3.0GHz where it should be.

I'd suggest running CPU-Z (link here) and posting the results... I can try to help from there.
This is a good idea.

In your BIOS, you FSB should be 200 (or 200x4). Your multiplier should be 15.

Sometimes they can change by themselves. Running CPU will give you a definate clockspeed as windows easily gets it wrong.

Also, we all know AMD is better, but this is about an intel CPU and we are helping him, not saying how much better AMD is. Don't post stuff like that Senseless.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I agree with Casey, look at what your memory speeds and post back about them.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Memory frequency ~ 170 Mhz (256 MB RAM)
ReinisFMF is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

That would be it. You are using PC2700 memory (which equals 170MHz) and the FSB is limited to that. Using PC3200 memory will fix your problem.
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

So what I have to do?
ReinisFMF is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Replace your memory with PC3200. If you are satisfied with your current performance, dont bother. But if you want a little more power, then you might have to get new RAM.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.