Actual CPU frequency - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default Actual CPU frequency

My Pentium 4 3Ghz processor is running at ~ 2.5 Ghz. Why?
__________________

ReinisFMF is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Did you build the system yourself? You might want to check the FSB in the BIOS. Multiply it by the multiplier to get the frequency, and increase it if required.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

No, I didn't build it myself. And I'm aware of destroying may CPU by changing the frequencies...
ReinisFMF is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

should've bought amd
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Like previously posted, maybe something funky is going on with you multiplier or FSB frequency. Have a look in your BIOS to see if you can get the CPU back up to par.

Also, if its a laptop, it might be underclocking itself when not under load.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
should've bought amd
Dude seriously, I own an AMD and I'll be the first one to tell you to get off your high-horse and start contributing with real answers to actual problems.

I guarantee if you keep it up someone's eventually going to ban you.
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default

If the computer is second hand it could have been underclocked by the previous owner due to cooling problems perhaps? check your cpu temps and if your happy with them overclock it back to 3ghz.
__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 161
Default

mmmmm. i agree if your cpu temp allows you to overclock, GO FOR IT.

i own i AMD, its my first AMD and i must say that AMD is by far better than intel. i was previously very loyal to intel untill i was shown the light that is AMD.

anyway.... also check to see what the system clock is running at. as the 'clock multiplier multiplied by the system clock equals the cpu frequency'.
__________________
INTEL Q6600 8MB CACHE 2.5GHZ
ASUS P4E32-E
6GB DDR2800 OCZ
NVIDIA 8800GTS 320MB
DEATH-INCARNATE is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 161
Default

oh and everyone is allowed to practise free speech here caseyc.
At least ReinisFMF knows now that he should consider AMD alot more seriously before making a choice. So senseless did contribute something that could help ReinisFMF in the future.
__________________
INTEL Q6600 8MB CACHE 2.5GHZ
ASUS P4E32-E
6GB DDR2800 OCZ
NVIDIA 8800GTS 320MB
DEATH-INCARNATE is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Although he did give a suggestion as to what processor is better, it did not seem relevant to this discussion. ReinisFMF asked for help with his Intel, and did not ask for help with building a new AMD computer.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.