active PFC?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default active PFC?!?

I am looking at Power supplies and i noticed that some have a feature called active PFC. What is this feature and is it worth the extra 10 bucks?
__________________

Augsy is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Active PFC is 'Active Power Factor Correction'. I won't go technical because, firstly it's extremely complicated, and secondly there's just too much to even attempt to take in!!!

Simply put, PFC makes your power supply more efficient, compared to a PSU without PFC.

PFC maintains power factor so that it is as close to 1.0 as possible. More information available here, in somewhat basic form: http://www.memonline.com/pfc1.html .

If I were you, I'd go PFC...!
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Basically from what I've gathered it's just able to keep your PSU stable in terms of making sure the power isn't dipping too low or fluctuating too high (power spikes on a certain rail) and keeping the voltages precise.

Someone might be able to elaborate on that, or you could google it and probably get a more precise answer
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Information Deleted by Him due to Ignorance in the subject.
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, in the time I did research and replied, Nubius and Alvin C. already did. I told you what I gathered. I also noticed what Nubius and Alvin were talking about. It was hard to get a straight forward answer or definition of it.

Nevertheless, it seems like it is def worth the extra 10 bucks.
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

??? Dude they aren't fanless....where did you get this from? My Thermaltake 560w is an Active PFC CPU and it has 2 fans in it
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I did a search on Active PFC and all the sites that came up showed fanless PSU's with PFC, but the fanned ones dont have it. I also read somewhere that it was PSU's without fans. I was grossely misinformed.
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...I'll save my breath....ditto nubius...
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

ok thanks guys.
__________________
My LeEt CoMp
Asus A8N-SLI
AMD Athlon 3500+ venice
Enermax 535 watt PS
2 x 512mb OCZ premier series
XFX 6800 GT (1100/400)
WD Sata II 250 GB HD w/16mb cache
Lite-on 1693S DVD-RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
windows xp pro
Augsy is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 02:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Thermaltake specifically does have fanless PSUs but I don't know how it managed to be that every search or yours turned up with fanless PSU's


http://www.thermaltake.com/purepower/W0023.htm

That's my PSU, Silent PurePower 560w

" Active PFC: PF>0.98 "

has an 80mm and a 90mm fan in it.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.