Acer AL2216WBD -- no HDCP?? help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Default Acer AL2216WBD -- no HDCP?? help!

Hi! I just ordered the Acer AL2216WBD. I'm reading now that it's been discontinued and the reason is that it doesn't have HDCP. Is this going to stop me from watching movies on my computer or using video inputs for recording live tv? What does this mean for me? Help! Oh, btw, if you're wondering NCIX now has them for $400 canadian which is an AWESOME deal if this lack of HDCP isn't a big deal...
__________________

BloodyFinger is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Default

nothing? no one?
__________________

BloodyFinger is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Default

no one gonna help me eh? ouch
BloodyFinger is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Acer AL2216WBD -- no HDCP?? help!

Quote:
Originally posted by BloodyFinger
Is this going to stop me from watching movies on my computer or using video inputs for recording live tv?
I am not quite sure what u mean by this.

In anycase. HDCP is a form of content protection. It is a very WEAK system mind you - since it was fully cracked by cryptographers (guys with math PhDs, and not these noobs that call themselves "hackers") a few years ago.

Essentially, if you were to connect a display device that does not support HDCP, to source device (DVD player, cable box, PVR, etc.) that does support HDCP, the SOURCE will not transmit anything. The HDCP specification dictates this. So, if the monitor doesn't support it, but the source does, then your monitor will not get any signal.

Some sources do transmit, but downgraded signals (i.e. lower resolutions). And some allow you to disable HDCP on the "source" (e.g. DVD player). Really depends on what device you have. If you elaborate more on your question, I can give you a more detailed answer.
Chankama is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Default

I'm using it as my computer monitor........ I'm just wondering if this is really going to effect anything I'm doing.
BloodyFinger is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 09:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Well.. Not for the most part. But, some CPUs actually do start to support HDCP. Which means, that if you are trying to play copyrighted content, the CPU will act as a HDCP source and will expect the monitor to be compliant.

For example, the Intel 945G line of CPUs is believed to have HDCP support I think. I am not sure about other CPUs both in Intel and AMD. But, I would presume that this is going to be a "feature" in the future - if not already.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.