Absolute best vid card on market? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 10:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by True_Orb
But I've heard the 256mb can actually slow speeds, that true?
If I could get a good brand 6800 GT for 128 for less, that'd be nice. Is the ASUS any good?

What's the use of 256 in the next few years anyway?
Only the Radeon 9800 Pro is slowed by 256MB.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 10:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

are you gonna run NV40 chip on your Duron processor?

hmm, i'll suggest 486-DX4 more suitable for installing nVidia 6800
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 10:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Arrow, this is for a new computer. I don't think this card would compliment my current setup very well.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 10:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

oh OK, apologies for a BAD comment, it is though compatible (the Duron)

ok, hee is the myth, its generally seen that AMD works well with nVidia and intel with ATi.

also, image quality of nvidia is good rather than ATi's

and speed of ATi is good rather than nvidia's

this above is taken generally, not on every application).
now you decide what to go for, as if i've to say, AMD and nVidia came with something new this time, so go for that combination. ALSO, Apple macs use nvidia in their high-end power macs. thus means nvidia is something to think about.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 11:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I don't really understand what is supposed to be true and what false in that statement, arrow.

However it seems I have money for a higher-end card, so unless you can convince me of something of something faster for the same price or a LOT cheaper but close in performance, it's eVGA 6800GT 256MB for me.
The vid card dilemma has driven me up the wall. ATI vs Nvidia, 9800, 6600, 6800, 128mb or 256mb. ARGH!
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 11:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

then get 6800, thats what i said best match for AMD system. and if u buy board on nVidia N-Force-3 chipset, the you might never see incompatibiliy b/w board and agp card.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 11:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

OK, thank you!
Load off my mind.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
oh OK, apologies for a BAD comment, it is though compatible (the Duron)

ok, hee is the myth, its generally seen that AMD works well with nVidia and intel with ATi.

also, image quality of nvidia is good rather than ATi's

and speed of ATi is good rather than nvidia's
others say that ATI is better with AMD and Nvidia is better with Intel
but either way, it is still just a myth; video cards do not favour different brand CPU's, although graphics cards do favour faster CPU's.
it is the CPU that processes the polygons and the graphics card colours and shades it all, and a lot of graphics cards are slowed down waiting for the polygons to be processed by the CPU, this happens more so with the 6800's and X800's.
the graphics are slightly better on Nvidia's 6x00 GPU's than ATI's Xxx0 GPU's because of smartshader 3.0, but in the previous generation it was ATI that had better graphics, with Smartshader 2.0 on the 9xx0 series when the Nvidia's 5xx0 series I don't think had a smartshader engine, or they might have had version 1.0
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 08:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow


also, image quality of nvidia is good rather than ATi's

and speed of ATi is good rather than nvidia's

Actually, ATI has slightly better image quality (not noticable unless you look at two screenshots side by side and even then its hard to tell), and Nvidia with its 6800 series is much faster than the X800 series in framerate and in benchmarks.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.