About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2010, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

After reading THIS, it kind of irritated me.. (I'm Short_Cirkit on XS).. I'm planning a new build for this summer and I'm about to scrap it and do an P55 EVGA board and an I5 650.

Here's a copy of what I said..

__________________________________________________ ______________________________
I'm sorry, but I'm just getting annoyed that all AMD does to compete with Intel is just to cram more cores in there, or up the clock speed. Intel has hyper threading, which I think is a very efficient idea. I've been with AMD since I started with this obsessive computer hobby in 2005 and I'm about THIS close to going with Intel if AMD doesn't do something. Granted the "bulldozer" platform is supposed to have some aspect of cross-talk, but we have to wait till 2011 for that.

Sorry for the rant, but if the 975 is just two more cores and no change to the architecture, I really have no interest to try it then.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

Welcome to the club! I have actually been on both AMD and Intel systems. Intel was better all around. I used to be impressed by what I got out of gaming, but I don't game anymore.

Be sure to post in the Building, Buying, Upgrading... forum!
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

I prefer Intel, but my mut of a desktop is AMD. Not because i prefer it, but i've always bought parts for it here and there and i always end up purchasing AMD.

As for computers i've build for people and consulted on, i've always gone with Intel since they introduced their dual cores.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 09:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

^ How do the i5's fair anyway? Lookin at the 750. I've been on some mid-range Intel rigs and they felt just as fast as my stock clocked Phenom. My buddy had a C2D laptop that was very responsive.

I meant for this to be a general HW topic, but if a mod wants to move it I won't complain.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

You should be fine.

i7 are the top grade, and therefore more expensive.

You should do well with a i5!
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 10:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

^ Seriously, what are the benefits of both sides.. All I really know on this now is Bench results and architecture differences. Don't mention price because that is a give in, but what are the main advantages of both sides?
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 10:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

I'm not experienced well enough in that. I think the i7 just has better benchmarks and a higher ceiling than i5.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 10:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

My hands on experience:
My i7 rig in sig versus a i5 750 w/ 4gb of ram and a 5770.

The i7 with a gtx260 got just a little better fps in games like crysis, borderlands and MW2.

The i7 was a little snapier in overall multitasking performance.

The i5 cost 25% less.

Was the i7 worth the extra cost? In reality no. IMO YES. Because I love power.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

I man as far as AMD vs Intel. I am just basing a lot off benchies and core 'cross-talk' and AMD just doesn't offer that yet. And why wait out a CPU (AMD) that may or may not be able to hang with the i7 YEARS after the i series debut.

I'm a harware feind as bad as VeeDubFreak, but I just don't have the funds for a high end Intel rig right now. And being a HW junkie, performance matters the most and as soon as I started learning more about CPUs, I was green with envy regarding intel's bench #'s, and I pretty much have been since then. Especially being a competitive male.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 04:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: About to switch teams (AMD -> Intel)

What's the difference between AMD and Intel. Microseconds

Buy the best you can afford. If that means AMD then you probably won't be winning any Benchmark Challenges but for most everything else the difference will be measured in very small moments of time
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
AMD vs Intel BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 41 06-15-2008 04:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.