about pixel shader 3.0 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 11:02 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
See...what did I tell y'all.

Just be quiet dale5605. People can like the games they choose. Not everybody buys a high end card to get 2000 fps in America's Army.
that's right... your eye doesn't even notice frame rates higher than 60, and even if you get more, your monitor is likely that the HZ are limited to like 60-75... 85HZ are only on 1024x768 or less on most CRT's, including the "nice viewsonic" ones...

so GO NVIDIA!!!!

EDIT: if you an afford the x800's, you an afford a vid game, you won't be playing Ameraca's Army!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:13 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

The funny thing is Pixel Shader 3.0 is no better then 2.0, just a bit faster. Better comands is all it is.

-Ryan
__________________

MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:15 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrBebop26
The funny thing is Pixel Shader 3.0 is no better then 2.0, just a bit faster. Better comands is all it is.

-Ryan
That is not necissarily true. In the case of Far Cry, it was used just for mere performance increases. But current and future games are using it for image quality increases as well. You can't have parallax mapping or HDR lighting with SM2.0. Plus, developer's aren't coding in 2.0 anymore. They are including 1.1/1.4 and 3.0 paths, and like I said, the difference is astronomical between 1.1 and 3.0.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:22 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Yes 1.1 and 3.0 it is, but between 2.0 and 3.0 all it is is better commands for faster execution, there is no other advancement. I got this from E3, the guy talking about making UT2k7.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:37 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

My Integarted Graphics have Pixel Shader 1.1
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 12:32 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

AAO will be the first game to be ported on to unreal 3 is what I meant. UE3 isn't even done yet so of course it's not on UE3 right now. UE 2.5 is correct.

Also, I only get 40-80 fps. 40 is the lows I usually hit during firefights and other places and 80 is usually where my fps peaks. AAO is a very graphical game and takes a lot of juice.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 12:37 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

it was just a very bad foresight on ATI's part to not include it, and allow this argument to even be had.. damn foolish of them.

however with pixel shaders and such aside it doesn't matter the 6600GT is the mid-range card of choice for this era, no ATI card IN THIS RANGE can beat the 6600gt. the 6800gt in my opinion also dominates the upper-mid range with its performance for its cost. i have owned both these cards and compared them to aTI's of similiar cost before and after i purchased them.

it just makes sense to go nvidia right now, next gen who knows? but right now go nvidia.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 12:42 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Fact is ATI are a bunch of morons for not including it. If people are actually going to buy the ATI equivilent of a 6800gt, they should at least be able to get EVERY EYE CANDY FEATURE AVALIABLE!!!! $400 and you don't support SM3? You don't deserve squat.

6600gt is unbeatable with its price. 6800gt is unbeatable in its price and performance. Period.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 03:01 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Im not going to lie, im ashamed in myself for not doing more research b4 purchasing my X850 XT. Thing is, i read editorials and looked at benchies, not TF. o well, lesson learned.

Mind u, im still pissed at ATI.

@Dale - i ran AA on a P4 2.4ghz Northwood with 256MB of RAM and a 64MB Dell integrated gfx chip without any problems, with my FPS around 25-30. It aint that demanding of a game
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 05:12 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Nubius, that is a kickass show on your sig..., but besides that... I will advise against Nvidia Geforce 4 MX 4000, it doesn't suport pixel shader at all... other than that I say Nvidia all the way!!!
__________________

The Dark Lord is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.