about pixel shader 3.0 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2005, 09:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

We've both been down that road b4. A road nobody should ever venture down again
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

ATI will get pixel shader 3 in their R520's and Pixel Shader 4 will be in NVIDIAS.

Who cares? Games still are great on $350 + Video Cards. If you can afford one, stop complaining and just play!
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
ATI will get pixel shader 3 in their R520's and Pixel Shader 4 will be in NVIDIAS.

Who cares? Games still are great on $350 + Video Cards. If you can afford one, stop complaining and just play!
I've seen nothing indicating that the 7800 series from NVIDIA will feature Shader Model 4...can you link me to the source for this?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
I've seen nothing indicating that the 7800 series from NVIDIA will feature Shader Model 4...can you link me to the source for this?
"I'm just trying to make a point that technology keeps changing and there is always something else that's coming out that's better."

I'm sure pixel shader 4 is just around the corner.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Who knows...SM3 is a HUGE advancement. Just watch the UE3 engine demo. Unreal Engine 3 is a full SM3 engine. Its AMAZING what they are doing.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 12:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

hooah aao
first game to unreal 3

so all you aao h8ters can shove it

I'll give your stupid level 60 druid an m16 burst to the head, see how he likes that.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 12:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
hooah aao
first game to unreal 3

so all you aao h8ters can shove it

I'll give your stupid level 60 druid an m16 burst to the head, see how he likes that.
See...what did I tell y'all.

Just be quiet dale5605. People can like the games they choose. Not everybody buys a high end card to get 2000 fps in America's Army.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Stop acting like kids, kids.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
hooah aao
first game to unreal 3

so all you aao h8ters can shove it

I'll give your stupid level 60 druid an m16 burst to the head, see how he likes that.
Sorry to burst your bubble Dale, but America's Army doesn't use the Unreal Engine 3. It uses Unreal Engine 2.5. America's Army won't be using Unreal Engine 3 untill late 2006-2007. And besides, no game will use Unreal Engine 3 until UT2007 gets released.

And BTW dale, the AA devs haven't even been physicly working with UE3, they just signed the papers to use it. and UT 2007 is well into development with UE3, so...AA isn't the first game to use UE3 like you mentioned. get your facts straight Dale.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 09:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Boy am I happy that I just ordered my 6600GT !!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.