About Centrino... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 04:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

They need to devise a license for PC's. One that says whether you are allowed to use it, modify/build or both.

Could be entertaining.
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I knew absolutely nothing of Centrinos until about a month ago when a replaced my new AMD 3000+ Laptop because I was a bit disappointed with the overall setup of it.

I am now quite satisfied with my Centrino, it does remarkably resemble AMD architechture from what I understand, and it's actually quite a nifty little machine. The Centrino will actually run at a certain temperature without any fans spinning, and I mean none. Once it reaches a certain temperature, which I believe is over 50 degrees, the fan will kick in and cool down the processor. I was pretty impressed with this little technology Intel rigged up.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I thought centrino was nothing more than a bundle of certain features in order to be centrino certified.
almach1 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default

Quote:
My amd 2800 2.8 ghz system beats any centrino processor
We where just making fun of ppl who called them centrino processors. Ounce again they are NOT processors. Centrino is a technology based on the AMD cpu put into an intel processor. :beard: But i heard it worx quite well in any lappy so i wouldnt mind having at least 1 intel in the house.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by almach1
I thought centrino was nothing more than a bundle of certain features in order to be centrino certified.
That's exactly what it is, a Pentium M, an Intel Pro/Wireless chip for 802.11 Wi-Fi, and a certain chipset. I wouldn't refer to it as "nothing more than" though...
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
What about the dothan core "centrino's"

http://reviews.zdnet.co.uk/hardware/...9154053,00.htm

These are a completly different chip and max out at 2.0ghz. Different from pentium 4 mobiles and these chips resemble the AMD artechture more than the p4.
DJ-CHRIS, please read a bit more carefully!

Note the first words of the article, "The latest Pentium M processor from Intel improves on the Banias core..."

Dothan is a core of Pentium M chips...
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ILuVaTaR
My amd 2800 2.8 ghz system beats any centrino processor
If you have a 2.8ghz 2800 it will beat out any stock cpu (except maybee an fx-55)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default

I doubt seriously that a 2800+ can beat out some of the 64bit cpus either.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

^^^ It's still a different core making it a completly new processor. However some centrino's i believe are also just p4's.

Also if a 2800+ (could even be a 64 bit as well) was running at 2.8 ghz, it would be running ahead of or with the fx-55.

The 2800 is only like an 1.6 ghz CPU i think.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default

yea so somebody is either lying or didnt know what he/she was talking about. I could run my 2600+ (watercooling mind you) that fast but still not outperform my dads FX-55! Besides a 64bit cpu could outperform Socket A.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.