abnormally low game/bench. performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default abnormally low game/bench. performance

I've recently refitted my PC with all the latest goodies--which left me on the edge of bankrupcy. However, I've noticed that the system is performing much worse than it is expected to--there are frequent framerate issues in games (FarCry, Swat4, WoW) and low ratings in 3dMark03 and 05 (I score consistently in the lower 10 procentile). I've done all the common-sense basics, including extensive multi-programm spyware/virus checks, installing new video card drivers etc...but there is still no change. One thing I did notice, however, is that my CPU scores are always very low--and that turning on 3d sound in games causes dramatic fps drops. It stands to reason that if my CPU's malfunctioning, the sound-mixing takes up a huge share of its capacity and thsu causes the slowdowns...Nonetheless, I haven't been able to find the source of the problem--and after having spent the entire day looking, I'm rather desperate for help Physical inspection shows proper connections, reinstalling windows gives no improvement, overclocking by about 10% does little also....if anyone has an idea, or at least a guess, of what I'm missing--by all means, elighten me

System specs: HIS XT 800 PE, P4 3.2 ghz, 2x maxtor 80 gig hardrives, dvd-r, 300W PSU, Asus P4P800 E Deluxe motherboard w/ integrated Realtek 5.1 sound.

P.S.--could the issue be the insufficient power supply? However, there is no system instability whatsoever--just slow performance. Unplugging everything , including 1 hard drive, floppy, DVD, a few fans didn't cause any performance improvement.

P.P.S.--I only have one auxillary power connector plugged into the XT 800PE (6 pin)...anyone know if any others need to be plugged in there?
__________________

napoleonus is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

have u tried other benchies like aquamark?
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

What are your 3dmark scores?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I also tried SiSoftwareSandra, but I think I'll need a degree in computer science before I figure out what the hell the results there mean I'll set aquamark to download before I go to bed (I'm from central europe, so it's past 3am here...heh, and I'm on a tech forum..what a geek!).

As to my scores:

3dMark 03--11300 3dmarks, 581 cpu marks. detailed results below

GT1 - Wings of Fury 211.9 fps
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 89.9 fps
GT3 - Troll's Lair 72.8 fps
GT4 - Mother Nature 77.9 fps
CPU Test 1 67.9 fps
CPU Test 2 9.8 fps

Isn't the discrepancy b/w the first and second CPU test Fps somewhat strange?

And my 2005 results:

5600-5700 3dmarks (driver dependant)
2874 CPU

Is it normal to get 25-30 fps on the game tests and about heh...1-2 fps on the cpu test with my hardware? Seems rather improbable...

My results for the 2003 tests...I'd find and post my 05's, too, but I'm afraid I'd start drooling over the keyboard from fatigue
napoleonus is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

its normal to get 1-2 FPS on the CPU tests, everybody does. and ur scores were right on par for where they should be, that is if ur getting 5600-5700 on an X800 XT PE
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your scores are right, their's no issue.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.