Abnormality - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2005, 02:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Go check your BIOS, the readings are always accurate,
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 02:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

go check it for what?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Ok, just tried to run ALL my games and they all loaded up and then either minimised / locked up. I'm gonna agree with you all about it being a PSU problem. Question is, will my PSU destroy my Mobo if i keep on using it. Cause i can't immediatly switch it out for a better one for several weeks :O
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 05:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

/shameless bump
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 07:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

it may be unstable, but i doubt anything bad would happen unless there was a burst of voltage or something. sry, i'm not really sure.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Ok, cheers man

So would you people suggest i get a better PSU AND a new CPU heatsink? (however, i'm upgrading to a 939 CPU in several months)

So, could my current CPU temp be hot enough to damage my OTHER hardware ?

Cheers for your help so far all
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:43 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

your PSU won't destroy your parts, it just won't let things run properly.
your PSU is not giving enough power. it would destroy the computer if it was a bad PSU that output too much power.
the Antec PSU's are really good, they give solid power and it won't jump up or down from what it should be
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:02 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

So, can i ask one more question (semi last)

IS it my PSU limiting power to my fans thus having a high PC temp OR the fact that my fans/heatsink need replacing? Or both?

And as i asked previously, will my CPU running at this temp damage any other hardware? Is it safe to continue using my PC to play games, etc. ?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

anyone?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Looks like as if your PSU isn't giving enoough power to your motherboard, so your fans aren't going at top speed. That might be causing the heating porblems.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.