Abit NF7 won't recog monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Unhappy Abit NF7 won't recog monitor

Thanks for your consideration in advance....

Monitor is blank. I'm building a computer and my ABit NF7S will not recognize the monitor. I'm using AGP GeForce XFX 5200 8x....It is seated properly and is 1.5 volts. I presently have it installed in the VGA port, although I've read it can go in PCI slot. Any suggestions?

No beeps... so I assume memory is good (333 PC2100 256DDR)..... and CPU?

Any diagnostic progression I should pursue???
__________________

Mynf7 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Try a different video card in that computer and/or try a different monitor on that pc. Or you can try that video card in a different pc, or try a different monitor on that pc.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

if there isnt any beep, means ur CPU has problem.

it wont though will fit into PCI, its AGP 8X card, not even AGP1X, that u can adjust it anywhere else.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, AGP doesn't fit in PCI at all and it's not your motherboard not recognizing the monitor, as that never happens, a computer doesnt recognize a monitor, it recognizes the hardware that sends the signal to the monitor. Like what's been said though above, and power goes to it with no beeps, no signals, no nothin, then it's either CPU is bad, seated wrong, or the motherboard is bad.

Did you clear the CMOS before installing the CPU or have you tried clearing the CMOS at all? If you read the manual it says it's best to clear the CMOS before installing a new mobo or CPU in the mobo

BTW:
Quote:
(333 PC2100 256DDR)
That doesn't exist, PC2100 RAM is 266FSB not 333. 333 is PC2700 RAM and it's known as DDR333 or in your case if you have PC2100 then it's DDR266 and it's 256mb, so all in all you have 256mb stick of PC2100(DDR266) memory.

Clear CMOS, if that doesn't work, reseat the processor, if that doesn't work, try it without the processor in it to try and see if you get some beep codes, if you do then it's the processor, if not then it's the motherboard, also make sure your motherboard isn't grounding out on the case
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

my xp recognizes my monitor thru my nvidia card so i dunno what ur talking about, windows update sure knew when i changed monitors wanting me install the viewsonic specific driver for it and yes ur pc should beep when u start it. im guessing u got a bad board or cpu altho i havent seen very many cpus crap out as long as there not abused. had a nasty power surge at my house not too long ago that went thru 2 surge protectors(to my pc), blew 3 cordless phones in my house, lights bulbs, an alarm clock and blew the board in my pc, never touched the processor tho
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
my xp recognizes my monitor thru my nvidia card so i dunno what ur talking about, windows update sure knew when i changed monitors wanting me install the viewsonic specific driver for it
Yeah exactly what I said, through the video card, the hardware. It reads all the monitor information, but obviously this isn't a case of it not recognizing a monitor because that DOESN"T happen. Your computer does not need to recoqnize your monitor, XP may need to, but your computer does not. That's what I'm talking about
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Computer turns on, but nothing on monitor

Thanks for your suggestions. I have another cpu I'll try, but I don't have another vieo card.

I don't have anything on the HD, as everything inside is new. I have not had a video card installed, so I have not cleared the CMOS. Should I still do that?

Everything is brand new... Thanks for your suggestions.
Marc
Mynf7 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

take the vid card out and plug your monitor into your intergrated graphics. That's another way to see if your vid card has problems.
Good Luck
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.