Abit Mobo - Please help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2004, 05:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Default Abit Mobo - Please help!!!


I recently bought a Abit kv8 mother board and a athon64 3500+. I set the computer up, but when i turn on it makes 1 long beep, followed by 3 short beeps and then the power stays on for about 6 seconds and then turns itself off. There is also a LCD screen on the motherboard and i get the error code 9F (Whatever that means).

I have already taken 1 of these motherboards back and got it replaced, and exactly the same problem occurred on the replacement motherboard, so i am starting to believe that the processor is F'#/ked!

Please can anyone give any suggestions?


>>AMD Athlon64 3500+ *NewCastle*
>>1gb Corsair XMS TwinX 3200XLPRO
>>256mb Saphire Radeon X800PRO
>>160gb Maxtor Hard Disk
>>52X Plextor CDRW
>>12x Plextor DVD-R
>>Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
>>Creative Labs Gigaworks 7.1
Carniva is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 08:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

Try this link out for your beep codes.


ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536

Abit doesn't use beep codes for their POST system. The only way to find the definition for 9F is to look in the manual. The POST codes are different on each Abit motherboard.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

UHHH,,, ABIT DOES use beep codes,,

Three things I would Look at,,

A) the CPU is not seated correctly and the CMOS is protecting the CPU and killing the power,,


B) the Keyboard is not connected properly


c) Your Ram is Not compliant , try something SLOWER first


d) Your Video card


e) Check that the FAN HEADER is plugged in on the motherboard,, if no fan is detected ,, pc shuts down,,,

OK,,, so that is 5 areas,,

Give em all a try,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 02:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536

Abit's new line does not use beep codes.
ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.