A8v Vs Av8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2004, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default A8v Vs Av8

Well my mind was set on the Abit AV8 939 socket motherboard but since ive heard that you have to replace the BIOS chip on them for the winchester core CPU to work.. im kinda thinking of going with Asus A8V 939 socket motherboard... is this a good motherboard? and will it reconize the Winchester core CPU without replaceing BIOS chips? i just want a easy motherboard install is all. thanks.
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Asus is best Motherboard manufacturer, second comes Giga-Byte, then rest MSI, ABit are striving their way through.

get any of Asus or Giga-Byte. Asus is more recommended.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default

But does all of the Asus A8V Motherboard have the Latest BIOS chips which reconize 90nm CPU... cause with Abit you have to update it yourself.
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

no it doesnt, u need bios flash also. I personally like the Abit av8 better than ANY asus... You can ask the website to send you a bioschip with the new bios, or just purchase it at biosman.com as you order you mobo.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

BIOS update isnt difficult process, i dont know about other Mobo manufacturers, but on Asus, its very easy to accomplish. by Asus Update wizard. your BIOS will be upgraded in seconds and with ease.

best is to install any small operating system (like win98) and then upgarde BIOS, and then do setting accordingly. and finally quick format h/d and install windows XP or what ever you like to install.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

wow dude blind arrow, you need to do your reading about recent technoligy
The 90nm chip wont allow your pc to POST. Therefore you can not update your bios using the update manager. You must buy a new bios chip, and replace it with your old one in your pc. Or if you have an older mobo with same bios as teh av8, you can simply replace the chips, flash bios on old pc, then put the chip back in, and ur good to go
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Abit is the best motherboard manufacturer for overclocking. The have the best and safest features for overclocking while preserving your computer's life and keeping it at the fullest.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default

if i buy a AMD 64 3500+ with 0.13 Process stead of 90.nm Process i shouldnt have to replace the BIOS stead of replacing it should reconize the 0.13 3500+ CPU right? only reason you have to update BIOS if you have the 90nm right?
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Thats correct, the 130nm will work with any socket 939 board. Get an Abit aV8 3rd-Eye - Especially if your going with the 130nm.

Check it out here
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

yup, i 2nd that one. Its an amazing Mobo. But let me tell you, all of the current mobos are all the same... the difference isnt visible to the eye. If you are not overclock, the av8 is a nice choice, as is any other one. Its a question of prefernce. For ocing, id look at the new nf4 mobos. You might have to wait a bit before tho
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.