9600se - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2004, 08:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 50
Default 9600se

would a 9600se be able to handle half life 2 when it comes out?

phake is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

Yes it will but to what degree I am not sure. I would recommend getting a different video card like the 9600 Pro. The SE is a tuned down 9600 Pro so it has less power. If you already have the card then you will be fine but you may need to use lower settings.

Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451

Yea, go for the 9600 Pro or XT, they are much better.

I have the XT version and I can run FarCry on HIGH settings with no problem (at least not yet) and BF Vietnam on HIGH as well with no problems.

Trust us, get the PRO or XT, you wont regret it!
Chubz is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193

9600 se is comparable to 9200 :-/ ... in other words .. crap. Don't waste your money if you expect to play newer games on it.
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
modemide is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 10:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

The 9600 SE is about the performance of a 7500. (the sacrifice for cutting down the memory bandwidth in half)
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 50

well i know it its only a midde class gfx card, but the rest of my specs are

512 ram
1333+ amd xp
msi k7t266 pro2

so a high end card would be pretty pointless, i dont think my system will be able to handle it

phake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.