925xe chipset and EM64T support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Question 925xe chipset and EM64T support

I think I have done all the research I need on this but I just want to confirm. From what I have read, the new 925xe chipset supports EM64T. Now, does this support mean a mobo with the 925 chipset will support next generation 64-bit chips from intel?

And before you say it, I know AMD already has support for 64-bit. I don't need the AMD soap box speeches.

I just want to know that if I get a system today with this chipset, a 64-bit upgrade in a couple of years should be as easy as just replacing the chip, and not the whole mobo.
__________________

para[android] is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I believe so, but the chips won't have the EM64T activated on them......dunno really about all that, but yes I think your correct
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

All current generation chipsets have support for EM64T and Intel's Dual Core (EM64T) 8xx processors and the mainstream Intel Pentium 4 6xx (EM64T) processors which are set to be unveiled in April.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default

So if the new series of p4 chips are 64-bit, I should just be able to swap out chips into the current mobo and full 64-bit compatability right?
para[android] is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Yup...if you have a 9xx chipset board on the LGA775 platform.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I heard that it may be possible to enable the 64 bit by changing the BIOS. (Prescott cores 3.2 and up) I have no idea where you would get the BIOS from though.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I did read something about this, but found it hard to believe. I would think intel would advertise the fact that the chips are 64-bit compatible. Would be sweet though!
para[android] is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Prescott was designed from the ground up to be 64-Bit processor. In fact it has 64-Bit right now, but the instructions set is disabled. It was really profitable for Intel to do it this way since once XP-64 hits the market, Intel just does a small modification and changes the packaging and voilla, a 64-bIt proc. that didn't cost anything to make. Secondly, you have to understand that the 64-Bit are disable through the pacakaging. Same with a Sempron and an A64. Sempron is 64-Bit but the packagaing only allows for so much. One more thing, you can't switch on 64-Bit on a Prescott...through the bios...you need to change the packaging and that is left for intel to do.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default

So, are all current P4's prescott cores? (example p4 550 w/ht) And, are you saying there will NOT be a way to enable 64-bit in the future on these cards?
para[android] is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

You can't enable 64-Bit on the Pentium 4 just magically right now. Even thought 5x0 processors are fully 64-Bit processors doesn't mean that the packaging will allow for it to function in 64-Bit. Secondly, you can't just go into the BIOS and say 64-Bit or 32-Bit. If Intel would allow for that, then don't you think they would've just marketed the 5x0 processors as 64-Bit instead of disabling their 64-Bit through the packaging and marketing them as 32-Bit. This goes for the Celeron D also.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.