8600 GT as my Physx card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2009, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default 8600 GT as my Physx card

Ok so after having seen how much each of my cards uses under load (170 watts) and my chip uses under load (170 watts)

2*170=340+170=510 watts

All of this with an AntecEarthwatts 380. So instead of killing my PSU and frying everything else. Instead I m using an extra 8600 GT 512MB GDDR2 that I had lying around. My question is how do I setup my 8600 GT so I can use it to render physx (thus improving my FPS).
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

throw the card in there install latest drivers off of nvidia's website and under control panel make sure the box is checked "use this card for physx" and you are ready to go.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

Umm, if you add an 8600GT thats another 50watts your psu has to handle.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

i think he took out one of his 4830's unless his board has 3 pci-e slots
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

Yeah like Phil said I m taking out one of my 4830's. Since I have to RMA it anyways, so I'll be using 120 watts less then I am at the moment. As far as my chip goes, I m going to take it back to stock frequency and drop the Vcore to 1.15Volts.

Hopefully my PSU can handle that and my computer won't freeze whenver I m under load.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

ah nm.

yeah thats too much for that psu. a nice 600watt will do you good.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

why must you rma your 4830? hope all goes well. what brand is it. when i had to rma my x1900xtx two times i had to go through heck and back to get sapphire to send me a new one, and then that one died on me too. that's why i am against ati cards now.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

Everyone was like "Antec Earth Watts 380 is a BEAST!!!" so I got it Zzzzzzzzzz

I m going to see if I can get my brother to pay for my PSU Since his using my old motherboard, case, chip, and PSU.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

ya 380 watts is a little low. and 17a + 17a is not much for xfired 4830's
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 03:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 8600 GT as my Physx card

The psu is a beast.

But its rated for 380w, not 500w.

look at my sig....that system is on 24/7 with the same psu.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New graphics card for £100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E sound card, recommend over XtremeGamer? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-13-2008 03:26 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
SanDisk MicroSD Memory Card Not Working Andrew B. Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 02-14-2008 09:59 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.