8 pipelines vs. 12 pipleines - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default 8 pipelines vs. 12 pipleines

what is the difference between 8 pipelines and 12 pipelines in a graphics card?
__________________

the drizzle is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

12 pipelines are better.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

same as traffic and cars. More roads allows less congestion which in graphics terms means more graphical data can flow thus better performance
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Thank you. I take it it would be worth the extra money to get a card with more pipelines?
the drizzle is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

depends on the card :-p but id say yes....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 01:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah...what 12 pipeline card are you talking about? Most of the 12 pipe cards were failures, such as the 6800 (NU) and X800 Pro. Go for a 16 piped card, which you can get for cheaper than the 6800 NU in the X800XL from ATI.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

hey bee congrats on your mod status
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 11:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

WOAH!!! beedubya is a moderator! nice one bee!
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

lol yeah. And how does a person go about coming a mod? Daily post rate > 15, post count > 1000, etc. etc.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

doesn't really have to do with post count as the other mod is 'giranworms' who only has like 800 or so..........I don't think I've ever seen him around the hardware or OC'ing though which is basically what we needed.

Soooooooo basically beedub gets to handle all the spam and whiners of hardware and OC by himself

Good luck
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.