754 <> 939? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 12:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Socket 754 is nowhere near outdated, but I would say go with Socket 939. You will really feel the advantage of dual-channel RAM in games like Half Life 2. Plus, 939 has a future and 754 does not.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

for doing music, movies, dvd, internet, some gaming, a 754 3200+, or 3400+ would do you fine. Couple it with 512, or 1gb Ram in dual channel and a 6600gt and it would be a screamer. A friend of mine has a 3000+, 1gb Ram, 6800gt and it runs fast even though its a 754.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Yeah I'm thinking of upgrading to 939 soon. My 754 is excellent but its crap at overclocking and it has no special features like the 939.

But I will up my money first as I want a decent motherboard and a new PCI-E graphics card as well.

At the moment though theres no point upgrading as my setup plays every game on max details with no lag at all so it would just be a waste of money.
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 09:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
a 754 3200+, or 3400+ would do you fine. Couple it with 512, or 1gb Ram in dual channel
you cant have dual channel with a 754 though ....
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 11:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nubius
Put your RAM in a dual channel setup and run a benchmark test. It will be nowhere near 6.4gb/sec

DC provides anywhere from 5-20% increase in performance, not straight up doubled.

I know the motherboards that support it say that it 'Provides 50% increase in bandwidth up to 6.4gb/sec!' but the key word is 'up to' and its really not a huge difference like some believe.
[/QUOTE

In dual channel with stock ram i get 5.6 gig \ second.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
you cant have dual channel with a 754 though .
Really, i didnt know that, sorry, i should have done my homework. Well i guess thats another reason to go to 939, but 754 is still quite fast, but no extra features.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 06:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
In dual channel with stock ram i get 5.6 gig \ second.
Then you can't possibly have PC3200 which when they talk about the 6.4gb/sec they are talking about PC3200x2 in terms of speed.

EDIT: The 754's are decent OC'ers you just gotta get something like the 3400+ 64 mobile
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

dual channel tries to use both RAM disks evenly with their own individual bus, so they would theoretically give double the transfer speed
but like said before it usually doesn't, it's more like 150%
this is the same with SLI. SLI means 2 video cards processing the same screen, which would theoretically double the performance, but in reality is more like 150% as good

when you see a "400MHZ" DDR RAM disk, it is actually 200MHZ, but it transfers 2 times the data per clock cycle as SDRAM, giving performance like if SDRAM were at 400MHZ

RDRAM is similar, but can be "800MHZ" or "1066MHZ" which is actually 200MHZ x 4 or 266 x 4
RDRAM transfers 4 times the data per clock cycle than SDRAM

RDRAM is twice as fast as DDRRAM, but it never really took off. RDRAM was much too expensive for most people, and few motherboards were made to support it (not sure why)

socket 939 is the way to go, like said it has a 1000/2000MHZ HT over socket 754's and socket 940's 800/1600MHZ HTT

socket 754 doesn't support dual channel

socket 940 requires you to use ECC RAM, which is more stable, but slower and more expensive. it is most commonly used in servers (which sorta suits socket 940, since it holds the Opteron server processors)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Couple it with 512, or 1gb Ram in dual channel and a 6600gt and it would be a screamer.
I plan on going with 512, but as for the other...nahhh!

She likes media, not FPS. I plan on putting a graphics card in it, but not a big one. Nvidia, I know, but not a big one. I might go with Windows Media Center, since it fits with what she likes to do, minus the TV tuning.

Now, if it were for me...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I say you give her that computer that's in your sig and rebuild a new one for yourself

The kids dont need a more powerful computer than the parents muahaha
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.