7 Mins. To Boot Up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2004, 01:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

how can i do that without taking it apart?
__________________

__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

oops, am i living in the past or what!!! Intel Celeron was in my old computer, i have an AMD Athlon, i also found tha my motherboard is "Trigem", i'm guessing that is the manufacturer. I'm not sure if this link will work or not nut, ths is were i am getting the info. It als has the specs on my motherboard. http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...cname=bph07941
__________________

__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

PS: wireless keyboards suck!!!
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 04:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Cool

You should definitely upgrade your ram to at least 512MB for smooth performance in Windows XP. How you survived this long using Windows XP with 128MB of ram is quite amazing. An alternative to upgradeing your ram would perhaps be to use Windows 2000 instead.
iceware is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 04:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Well same things been happening to me , slow , long startups, but when i use a different user which has little programs to load on startup it's prettey quick. And never listin to microsoft. defragementing is allways good. U should also upgrade to watever ram u can afford as this does help alot.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 08:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

No one suggested formatting? Defragging really never helped startup times for me. 128 megs of ram is a bit low.. go ahead and try the defragging, but I bet it's not going to help you that much. Afterwards, get ready to format. after the format it'll load a lot faster. I couldn't believe the difference after I formatted our old PII 450 with 128 megs of ram.
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 08:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

More RAM, more RAM, more RAM first. Then you can start thinking about doing all the other very good suggestions. At least 512.
Fragino is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 01:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Try clearing your "C:\Windows\Prefetch" folder. This folder contains information about what programs you frequently load, and loads information about them into memory at startup for faster access time later.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

Well, what can i say........RAM works miracles!!! I bought a 512 MB stick (DDR333) and now my computer is as good as new. As soon as i turned it on, to the time i was on the internet, it took at the most, 1 maybe 2 minutes!!! Thanx for all you guys' help.
__________________

__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.