6800GT has arrived! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 12:28 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NeoExtreme
I got a question for you Nubius,how did you get fps in Doom3?
On average, the 6800 GT can play Doom 3 maxed out with 4x AA and not dip below 60 fps 90% of the time.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:41 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Dude cant belive you got an agp card ure gonna poop when u go to upgrade and u get a PCI-e and ure like ****....

BTW anyone that gets a SLI dual core cpu board when they come out ide like to see that gonna be like 500 just for the board lol?

Thats a ***** much for me and the CPU costs? woooh! the CPU be a lot and then two GT's or two Ultras?! wooh 1000 dollars just for the vid cards.

All in all unless i win the lottery too much money for me. SLI and dual core a ways away anyway.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:44 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Oh and yea nice card lol im getting the BFG tomorow.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:48 AM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NickBrown7804
Dude cant belive you got an agp card ure gonna poop when u go to upgrade and u get a PCI-e and ure like ****....

BTW anyone that gets a SLI dual core cpu board when they come out ide like to see that gonna be like 500 just for the board lol?

Thats a ***** much for me and the CPU costs? woooh! the CPU be a lot and then two GT's or two Ultras?! wooh 1000 dollars just for the vid cards.

All in all unless i win the lottery too much money for me. SLI and dual core a ways away anyway.
nooooooooooob.

nForce 3 boards are still very good/fairly new
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:06 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I got a question for you Nubius,how did you get fps in Doom3?
bring down console using ctrl+shift+~ then type in com_showfps 1

Diablo - lol.....I might not have said it as bluntly but yeah that's pretty much the truth.

Quote:
Dude cant belive you got an agp card ure gonna poop when u go to upgrade and u get a PCI-e and ure like ****....
Not really....PCI-E isn't even widely used yet. AGP is still the vast majority of the market. Like Diablo said nf3 isn't old at all it's just not TOP KNOTCH of course, but it's still an upgrade from socket A.

A socket 939 DFI nf3 board with a venice or sandiego core CPU OC'd to 2.6+GHz and RAM at DDR500 or more and I can guarantee it'll destroy any other system unless that system is overclocked too..........but with the current cards, there is no freakin difference between PCI-E and AGP, those PCI-E cards can't even fully utilize the bandwidth so whats the point? I'd have to get a new PSU just to power the stupid thing too.

This way I can get a mobo and CPU and bam, I'm AMD64, 2 years from now when the system becomes 'slow' then by that time I'll be ready for a new CPU and mobo anyway so then I can go for PSU, new graphics and the whole shibang
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:00 AM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Little update.........I couldn't resist OC'ing lol I never do. It's nice and cool out right now since its 1am, window open, feet freezing, box fan in the computer so it's the perfect time to OC!

Doin Ultra speeds 401/1101

New scores:

3dmark03 - 12,025
3dmark05 - 5,410
Aquamark - 58,888

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:31 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

dam!

lucky bum
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:32 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Little update.........I couldn't resist OC'ing lol I never do. It's nice and cool out right now since its 1am, window open, feet freezing, box fan in the computer so it's the perfect time to OC!

Doin Ultra speeds 401/1101

New scores:

3dmark03 - 12,025
3dmark05 - 5,410
Aquamark - 58,888


WOW THATS THE PWNAGE
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:21 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius


A socket 939 DFI nf3 board with a venice or sandiego core CPU OC'd to 2.6+GHz and RAM at DDR500 or more and I can guarantee it'll destroy any other system unless that system is overclocked too..........but with the current cards, there is no freakin difference between PCI-E and AGP, those PCI-E cards can't even fully utilize the bandwidth so whats the point? I'd have to get a new PSU just to power the stupid thing too.

This way I can get a mobo and CPU and bam, I'm AMD64, 2 years from now when the system becomes 'slow' then by that time I'll be ready for a new CPU and mobo anyway so then I can go for PSU, new graphics and the whole shibang
I am sorry to say but I dont think this will EVER happen but here's a better idea

Since your the mobile CPU kinda guy, get a 3400+ DTR and the Nforce 3 SKT 754 board, and Overclock
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:33 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

How much was your price difference on your trade in ?
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.