6800gs repairable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default 6800gs repairable?

Okay so I got an eVGA 6800gs for Christmas, and it arrived damaged. One of the capacitors had fallen off during shipping. Newegg is filing a claim with UPS so I will be getting another card sometime soon. I want to know if I can fix this one though so I don't have to wait and when the new one comes I can have SLI. Here is a pic:


I have tried to solder it back on but the leads on the capacitor are just too short (like 2 or 3mm). Will the card run okay without the capacitor? Can I get a new capacitor somewhere (like Radioshack)? Will someplace be able to fix it for a small fee?

This seems to be the only issue with the card.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

I would just wait for the new card, If you have to send back the old one and they see you played around with it they might get mad.
__________________

__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I don't have to send it back.... What is UPS going to do with a broken video card?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

oh, so you get to keep it and you get a new one?
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Yep, which is why I can work on this one.... Enough of this just talk on aim for this sort of stuff....
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

You should not have messed with it. They will see you have tampered with it and might not take a refund.

Don't try the card without the capacitor; something bad WILL happen.

If they won't take the card back, find the information on the capacitor and try to order it online. It is a easy fix, but you need a fine-tipped soder iron.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Well, by the looks of your soldering you might have soldered a couple traces on the PCB together (I cant say for sure without a closer pic). If thats the case, then I wouldnt put that in your comp at all, as it might damage something. And, no it wont work without that capacitor.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

No there aren't any traces there, just outlines.... They don't want it back....
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 04:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Okay here is the capacitor:



Any ideas on what kind of capacitor I need to buy?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Its a 5.3 pF capacitor. That means 5.3 picoFarad.
It doesnt look like it has anything that specifies what kind of tolerance it has, but I would go with one that has really low tolerance. Tolerance is a measure of how much that value of capacitance can vary. Likely one less than 1% tolerance should do.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.