6800 Ultra or X800 XT?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2004, 12:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

6800 ultra takes up 2 SLOTS and requires you to have atleast a 420 ps.
__________________

Gunsmoke is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 32
Default

What i will do is Buy a new power supply and the 6800... but is it necessary to buy a new power supply if im going to have it on 4x?
__________________

Deviator is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 01:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well dont get it at bestbuy . . . theyll rip you off!
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 02:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

YES THEY WILL!
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 02:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

wait does the 6800 family take up the agp and pci, or just the ultra?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 02:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gunsmoke
6800 ultra takes up 2 SLOTS and requires you to have atleast a 420 ps.

Um...do you own one?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Article

Not all 6800's come with a 2 slot design as you can see in that article

Both are great awesome cards, you really can't go wrong with either..... Yes, the Nvidia has PS3.0, everyone says that won't become a standard until probably 18 monthes from now, so unless you are a die hard FarCry player and don't plan on upgrading in 18 monthes, then sure ok

The 6800 is a 2 slot design, the X800 is not......

The 6800 will likely require a new PSU because it has requires 2 power connectors. Maximum PC tested the PSU requirements and found that you can run the 6800 on a high end quality PSU at say 400 watts barely, but you can't on a generic PSU. The X800 however uses less power then the 9800XT, so you can run it on the same PSU you have now

In my unfanboybiased opinion, even though the 6800 Ultra has a slight performance lead in the popular games and is future proof, the added extra cost of having to buy and install a new $100 PSU is just unneccesary on top of the $600 for the card I would rather go with the X800XT, because I do plan on upgrading it in the future
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 04:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well i've heard that the 6800s are loud . . . any way to dampen the noise?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes you're right, it is only the Ultra that takes up the adjacent PCI slot

I don't like the 6800's cooler, it is huge and loud. unless there is a better cooler for the 6800 (one that's smaller, quieter and looks better) I'll stay with the X800
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Nvidia put a lots of efforts in the 6800 Ultra.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.