6800 is slowwwwww HELP PLEASE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2004, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default 6800 is slowwwwww HELP PLEASE

I just bought a BFG 6800 OC from Bestbuy for 299$

I took out my 9600 xt and put this in.......i installed the 61.77 drivers off of nvidia.com and then restarted my computer

I ran far cry with all settings on just high...and got horrible performence.........it was like playing doom 3 with a geforce 4 mx

i uninstalled all my ATI drivers but still no luck.....i have dx 9.0c

could someone tell me what these detonator drivers are and where to get them

also what shjould i set my graphics aperture to...its at 64 right now

thanks
__________________

__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Thumbs up

Just do a google search for denotaor drivers
__________________

__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Detonator is, I believe, what NVIDIA was calling their drivers for their cards. They appear to have renamed to a new set of drivers. One of the sh*tty things about NVIDIA is their policies regarding updates for drivers are worse than a Microsoft-license-director's wet dream. Either way, though, their latest driver version should be right for their latest chip version.

As for your performance being slow, you need to consider your other hardware. What's your RAM? Proc? Mobo? Chipset? And don't forget you got the OC version of the card. The real performers on that chipset are around $400+.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

my ram and mobo are in my signiture

PLEASE HELP.....halo cant even run with no AA/AF and 1024x768
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Well personaly when i install a new device like a video card or cpu or like a major ram upgrade i like to do a fresh install so my OS has absolutley no confilicts with the new hardwear + u get to see max performance just a thought not saying it will fix ur problem but maybe
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP

im ready to cry.......im 14 and just waisted 300 bucks
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

This could be alot of things, spyware, virus' , too many programs open in the background etc. Check for those things and if there is not a difference in performance check back here. Also see if your PC recognizes that it is a 6800 and not the 9600. Make sure to remove the old ATi drivers as well. That could cause conflict.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 02:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Check your BIOS settings for you AGP slot. You may have a caching or bandwidth problem that is legacy from your old card. Check with the new card's manual for the right bit-rates and caching.

You may also need to do a round of updating for the drivers of all your components (vid, mobo, chipset, windows, sound-c, proc, bios, etc.).

(BTW, you'd have to under-clock an XP3200+ to make 2.1Ghz, as they start at 2.2.)
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 04:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i updated everything except for my mobo bios....I tried but it wont seem to work

can someone walk me through this if they have a A7N8X-X


thanks....please help....a 6800 shouldnt be as slow as a 9600 xt


also.....does anyone know an overclocking program that will work with a nVidia 6800
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 04:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If you haven't tried the BIOS work, like I suggested, i would still recommend going and gettign the manual pdf from their site and taking a look.

Also, as a side note, i will mention that NVIDIA has a lovely way of putting out new cards that they just don't fully support for a while. When the geforce3 came out, it simply would not operate to full capacity with the chipset I had at the time (VIA). It was such a downer and a frustration, because here I had their latest greatest card, and my dirt old ATI Rage Fury Pro was kicking its ***. You have to watch ALL the details when you work with NVIDIA. The don't "play well with others".
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.