6800 Sli? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2004, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default 6800 Sli?

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...628/index.html

6800 with sli support trouble for ati?
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

I am a little lost with the logic of this post, the whole idea of that thing is to have two identical graphics cards, one produces the top half of the screen and one does the bottom half. I dont see why Nvidia would give/offer ATI support.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

rofl.. i think that was a typo andrew.. but either way, I trust nvidia already knows the complications of sli.. no one is going to buy it.. I mean you'd have to spend over 1k just to get it working.. while ati while have their cards sitting in the background making all of the money you know... So nvidia can take the chance at doing this, which could either make 'em a winner or make them loose a lot of money..
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

sounds like a great concept if they can perfect it to be reliable and to work with all of the NVidia cards instead of just the 500$ top end card

that way you can buy 2 mediocre cards and dominate the top end card

or just buy the top end...and then later upgrade by buying a 2nd.

I'm interested to see how this comes out
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default

This is bull**** considering the only other card to do it is the vodoo and no ones going to spend 1000 to get something that you have to spend a day doing, so no this is dumb
__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

I think alienware offers it in their $5000 ALX systems.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 05:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

I think it is a waste of money unless you already have two cards...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 06:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WQ87
I think alienware offers it in their $5000 ALX systems.
Yeah, Alienware started Nvidia on the SLi path

The Alienware can use either ATi or Nvidia, so it shouldn't be too much trouble for ATi to come up with such a system if it gets big
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.